One of the objectives of my residency at Guildford was to show the Cathedral as a place of worship during its refurbishment.  Having arranged the logistics, I was permitted to work on the scaffolding, which provided an excellent set of vantage points, and which, of course, was very much part of the images.

I had to make some decisions in advance about the style and content of the photos.  The chosen option was, as with the many architectural photos I have taken there, to prioritise the effect of keeping the whole building in focus, with mostly wide angle shots.

Allowing the use of modest ISO ratings, typically 400 – 800, to keep the quality of the images high, meant the exposures were quite long, typically 1/15 to 1 sec.  The resulting images of the service, therefore, showed some movement blur which, I hope, creates a sense of action and drama.

